Pride (and unWorthiness), Continued

More on pride.  I used to think I had it all together.  Things had to fall apart pretty big for me to realize that I don’t.  At all.  I’m thankful for a generous and forgiving God, who heaps blessings in the midst of us fumbling around in this life.

“I mourn to see people stumbling around trying to fix their lives, to find some kind of solution, some kind of book or therapy that will solve their problems, but who find no deliverance.  Instead of experiencing the grace of God, they experience the opposing hand of God because they are proud.”

“The first step to enjoying the blessings of humility is to stoop to serve even the unworthy “

Both John MacArthur quotes.  The second one makes sense, but seriously, who am I to decide who is “worthy” of my service?!  As if I’m somehow in a position of “better”.  Psht!  Kind of ridiculous.  The point, of course, is valid, tho’.  We don’t serve because we think we’re higher (in any way).  We serve because we love Jesus.  And because WE are (all) unworthy.

“The arrogance of your heart has deceived you. For if you think you are something when you are nothing, you have deceived yourself” (Jer 49:16, Gal 6:3)

2 responses to “Pride (and unWorthiness), Continued”

  1. Scott LaPierre Avatar
    Scott LaPierre

    That is a great quote.

    Maybe the point is more people we might consider unworthy. Not that we should consider who is or isn’t worthy as you said, but being human, we do, and we should still serve those we (pridefully) consider unworthy.

    1. I think you hit the nail on the head. And, not to confuse readers, I think John MacArthur is an excellent resource.

Leave a comment