Rainy Days

Well, after a week of glorious sunshine (and frigid temperatures), the drizzlies are back.  No worries, we got a ton accomplished while the skies were clear!

So far the chickens are loving their greenhouse space.  It’s so much warmer and drier.  I feel like I’m spoiling them.  I’m okay with that.

We bought a quarter of a beef from our good friend Gary and picked it up this past week.  Already we’ve had a delicious roast, and are having a beef stew for lunch today.  It’s amazing.  I’ve had a lot of grassfed beef over the years, and this one is incredible.  Tender.  Flavorful without being strong.  Fantastic.  But what in the world was I thinking when I ordered only a quarter?!  That’ll be gone in a jiffy!  Ooooh, that’s right.  I’ve been blessed with a freezer already too full of our pork, pastured chickens and turkey, the BEST lamb from our friends, amazing family-caught salmon, rich broths, wild berries and cultivated vegetables galore from last year.  I guess a quarter will have to do!

The Christmas tree is now being picked at by the livestock.  The living room looks empty.  But just as I’m always super antsy to get all of the decorations out of their boxes, I’m happy to put them away for next time, recovering the floor space that is necessary for ease of laundry folding.

We pulled out a 2000 piece puzzle of “The Starry Night” by Vincent Van Gogh.  Kendra’s found and pieced together the outside, so now we’re working on the moons whenever we walk by the dining room.  Even Colby has pulled together a few pieces!  For now, they’re playing Rummikub on our ever-spacious living room floor.  I love rainy days.

Leave a comment