Perks

This past week we got our septic test/perk holes filled back in. I’m much relieved, as they seemed to be the popular spot for all of the miscellaneous fun around here, and I was worried about a serious accident.   On a regular basis, I’d find frisbees, sticks, pots ‘n’ pans, and other clever imaginative tools  deep down within.  I know, I’m no fun. But I’m up for a tree house or crazy for in the woods!  Why would that be better?  Not sure, but it is!

The good news is that we’re that much closer to our goal of house-building! With the septic now officially approved, along with water, electric, phone, house plans and contractor, I think we’re just about set!

The only glitch is the financing.

After all papers were submitted, and having been officially approved through our current land-loan company to take it to the next level, they underwent some changes in policy (who hasn’t) this month, and had to bump our loan.  So we’ve been shopping for the last two weeks, and as you can imagine, construction loans aren’t a walk in the park.

At first I was a bit frustrated, mad because we would have been a step ahead, having pre-planned the loan stuff, hopefully making an easier transition into the start of a bumpy adventure.  But I quickly realized I had no control over this, and if I were to grumble so easily, it’d be a real challenge getting through the next hurdle: the actual building of the house.  I hear this can be an intense project.  Heavens, I’ve lived through it.

Growing up, my folks would buy fixer-uppers on land that we’d remodel and recover while living within, only to re-sell, working our way toward our eventual Dream Farm.  As the story’s been told (probably more than once, even here), and after a half dozen moves since their start of our farming lifestyle, my folks started the process of buying our current farmland.  It was not easy.  There were 7 accepted offers before they got it.  Each of the last offers fell through due to financial technical difficulties attached to the land at the time.  After twelve months of hard work on the money end, and having to drill a well with no guarantee of purchase, the project was officially theirs to begin.  A few years later, and with much more experience at house-building on our part and theirs, my folks moved into their farm house.

Mom & Dad's farmhouse

Through the whole building process for Mom and Dad, things changed – sometimes dramatically – each step of the way.  The house today is not what it was to be when they started.

So I had come to a funny place.  I’d sort of become a little bit conflicted about where to go with this.  Rather than being frustrated, I had to let it go.  But not too much.  Because if I just let it go, I’m not motivated to be the fighter I need to be in order to make the project ahead happen (financing is a drag), and for it to be manageable and efficient.

You all know me.  This passive thing wasn’t going to last.  But I do think I’ll be even more gung-ho when we actually sign papers, when we know this time, it’s It.  We thought we were building a house 4 years ago, but life’s kinks got in the way.  We’re so very glad we didn’t, though.  Just as all things, there was a better plan – one we didn’t know about.  And one we’re grateful for not having had our way with!

I remind myself of my folks’ example. Building, just like life, is ever-adapting, even if you do your best to stay the course.  Things come up.  You have to be flexible, but firm.  You also have to not invest too much into the minor things that can be adjusted down the road, but focus on the overall goal.  I want a place that my children can call home.  One that is accommodating, comfortable, and solid.  One that adds value, but isn’t excessive.  One that has many stories from the get-go, so plan on being a part of this important season of our lives!

…And so last week one of our wonderful friend came up to fill in the perk holes, and to grate and repair potholes for the winter in our never ending driveway.  That part of this whole thing is finished.  One thing down (or should I say up?)!

A view from the top of the farm.

Leave a comment